Skip to main content


Showing posts from June, 2016

2015 - 2016 Schafer Award Winner

We had an outstanding group of papers that were submitted for the 2015-2016 Hollace Anne Schafer Memorial Award . The award is presented annually by the AMS-NE for the best scholarly paper read by a graduate student at a chapter meeting. The full details and requirements, as well as a list of recent winners, can be found here . This year's committee selected Kirill Zikanov (Yale University) as this year's award recipient for his paper "Glinka's Three Models of Instrumental Music," delivered at our Winter 2016 meeting at Hartt School of Music. Congratulations to Kirill, and many thanks to all those who submitted their papers for consideration! We encourage graduate students in the chapter to keep this award in mind and to submit proposals for chapter meetings. CFPs for each meeting are posted here, our Facebook page , and to our mailing list via GoogleGroups.